top of page
Search
  • sassyjurie

Hitching Rides with Random Strangers!

Updated: Dec 9, 2019

This past October, I was able to attend the Made for Missions conference at Saddleback Church in Lake Forest. Instead of commuting to this three-day conference, I decided to take public transit all the way down for three hours and three hours back (versus a two-hour roundtrip drive).

Little did I know that God would provide rides through my sisters in Christ! These relationships and conversations would not have been formed if I had taken my car down to the conference.


God provided random rides home through strangers who have now become friends! He also provided brothers and sisters who have gone through reverse culture shock so that I can empathize with someone! God knows how to provide for me, even in the smallest details. Each day's provisions were even better than the previous one!


Day One!

My first morning going down to Saddleback, I took the commuter train down south, and later, I was sweating bullets as I ran from one bus stop to another to make sure I got to the conference on time. Even with all the running, I was 30 minutes late to the 8AM worship session of the conference. During lunch, I met two ladies, Wendy and Vanessa. We shared about our involvement in missions and why we were at this conference. I took the opportunity to ask if one of them could drop me off at the train station to shave off an hour from my commute. Wendy said YES and took me to the train station close to her house!


That night, Vanessa texted me and offered to pick me up from the train station the next morning! I was elated!


Day Two!

I took the train down to Tustin, and Vanessa came to pick me up! It was a short 20-minute drive to church in her stick shift car from the train station; rather than an hour bus ride from the station! During the conference, I had someone to sit next to, someone to eat lunch with, and someone to watch my stuff while running to the ladies' room! It was so great!


At the end of the conference, I randomly asked the women next to me where she was driving. Coincidentally, she lived a city over from me! She was headed in the same direction and let me ride with her! She dropped me off at the bus station just as the bus was about to depart! Allowing me to ride with her shaved two hours off of my commute home!


That night, Vanessa texted me again and offered to pick me up again the next morning!

(Vanessa!)

Day Three!

I took the train again down to the Tustin train station, and Vanessa was waiting for me! We were able to talk about what we were learning at this conference as we made our way to the last day of the conference. We got to pray over our day before our last day started!

In the last session of the conference, I was frantically looking for the woman who had given me a ride to the bus station the previous day. I couldn’t find her anywhere; however, while looking, a girl asked me if I was okay. I told her that I was looking for the woman who gave me a ride. Sarah simply said that she would be willing to give me a ride because she was driving two hours north!

(L-R : Luigi, Sarah, Yuri, Joy, Heidy, Althea, Ryan)


After the conference, instead of going home, Sarah invited me to dinner with her other church friends (and later paid for my dinner as well!). During dinner, I got to debrief with them about the conference. They gave me space to process everything with them. Furthermore, as I shared about my reverse culture shock experiences in the states, they shared their own stories! You have no idea how good it felt to hear that someone else had gone through reverse culture shock as well; these feelings that not everyone is able to understand.

(L-R: Luigi, Yuri, Althea, Heidy, Joy, and Sarah)


As we split off, Joy volunteered to take me home! I told her that she could drop me off at the closest train station. She refused! She told me that she would take me all the way home. As we got closer to my exit, I told her that she could drop me off at the closest bus station. She refused! She took me all the way home to my front step! WHAT!

Going to the Missions conference was a blessing, but the rides that were provided every single day was a bigger blessing. In all those car rides, I had meaningful conversations with all my new friends! God provided for me, even in the smallest details. I still am in shock!


What ways has God provided for you lately? Let your girl know in the comments! p.s. Please subscribe to my blog!

41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page